Posted on

Subversion of the Day- Consistency

Image

 

Is this thing still on?  Man, crazy stuff going on in my life right now- school, work, the greatest marriage ever, preparing to move away from the only state I have ever lived in.  It is like my world is falling apart, and coming together at the same time.  So please stick with me as I figure this out and deal with the Subversion of the Day- being consistent.

I love these little ideas that seem to have nothing to do with a revolutionary existence of under-throwing the powers of darkness.  But the real power is in the powerless!  So how appropriate that something as small as being consistent has such affirmative, life changing power!  If you can’t tell from my month long disappearance, i severely struggle with consistency.  I love to passionately start something, get distracted, and quickly forget about any commitment I ever made towards it.  I get the feeling that a good chunk of the world is like this.  But it is in our consistency that we see real fruit of change.

Maybe it is the only place we see real change?

Revolutions typically aren’t things that just poof out of thin air over night.  They are great events that have had long term influences.  If we really want to see darkness cast out in our lives and in our communities, then we must stick with what we start, or at least not abandon things.

Take time today to think through things you have committed to and have given up on when things were difficult, not what you wanted, or no longer interesting-

A job?A promise?
A commitment?
A relationship?
A resolution?
… a faith?

Or maybe just a blog.  Either way, in order to walk in the way of Jesus, you have to die to the sinful urge to give up.  Perseverance is key, in seeking the Kingdom, and seeing good things in your life.  Some heroes of the faith that I try to stand on the shoulders of say that real change doesn’t happen in the community until the 10th year of doing something.  You can’t expect to see real change in yourself and your life if you cant keep up with something after the 10th day.  I am taking this time to repent of my own lack of commitment and consistency by recommitting to making this blog a prophetic voice for change.  Maybe more consistent than lengthy is the answer.  Let’s find out together.  Subvert the powers today.

Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.

1 Corinthians 15:58

About everydaysubversive

I am a subversive. I want you to come with me. I want you to subvert the powers and principalities with me. This blog will be the incoherent ramblings of a border-line crazed militant, peppered with book reviews, songs, poems, stories, commentary, and the Word of God. And, which will be the reoccurring theme, regular suggestions on how to daily subvert the forces of darkness. This is going to get messy. You might bleed a little, and i might as well. At any rate, stay tuned, there should be a lot to talk about.

2 responses to “Subversion of the Day- Consistency

  1. Pat ⋅

    Good words, Josh! One of my favorite “keep-myself-going” verses is “And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not” (Galatians 6:9). I always ask myself, what happens if I faint on Wednesday and was due to reap on Thursday? Consistency helps us make it to Thursday. Blessings!

  2. thanks for commenting, Pat. I hope i don’t faint before VA, lol.

Leave a Reply

