Posted on

Subversion of the Day- Rest

 

We live in a culture that believes that consistently going is the best option, and that to slow down means death.  This, I must say, is corruption.  And I for one have fallen hook, line and sinker.  For example, I am writing this at 3 o’clock in the morning, and I have to get up to point kids to Christ in about 5 hours, and teach them how to fight the darkness.  I don’t plan on going to sleep for another 2 hours.  If we do not slow down, we die.  It is true; machines break down without maintenance; relationships tear without passionate investment; people die from exhaustion, literally and physically.

We need rest.

So the Subversion of the Day is to have a day of rest.  Now before you start calling me an out-of-touch bible-thumper or something equally as true, slow down a sec.  See what I did there?  I do not seek to be dogmatic about day of the week, or provide a list of activities accepted and not accepted.  This is about what allows you to rest, or recharge.  If being in the woods rejuvenates you, make that a part of your day of rest.  If it doesn’t, don’t.  The important thing is to see the importance of the activity: allowing ourselves time to recharge maintains us as a vessel to be used in God’s Kingdom.  It enables us to let out deal with pain and struggle of our week, so that we can consistently be an example of what Christ wants His people to be.

To subvert the powers, sometimes you have to take a break from subverting the powers.

So here is, for those interested, my example of what I will be doing to rest.  In a way I have split my day of rest into two parts, because in a way, neither is really a full day of rest for me.  On my day off during the week from acting as the Youth and Outreach Director at The Salvation Army, Richmond KY Corps, I spend time at a bible study I don’t have to prepare for (and I get to eat at), meeting with a similar saint that can encourage me, and spending copious amounts of time thinking, reading, and writing at Purdy’s Coffeehouse, drinking copious amounts of coffee.  This is super restful.  This isn’t giving to others, this is about me.  But one thing I need rest from I do not rest from on that day.  I will give you a hint to what that is: I am typing on it.  If you read my previous post Ode to the God of the 21st Century, you can see that I am prone to idol worship.  I need to cut ties with this device at least one day a week, so that way it doesn’t try to climb up on the throne of the King in my life again.

I am going throw back with this one.

This will officially be my first and last post for this blog on Sundays.  I am severing my connection from the internet on the commonly accepted Sabbath day to rest, and remember the God who can communicate to me without bright screen and a motherboard.  I am going to trust that He wants me to rest, and that the world won’t fall apart in that time frame.  I hope it doesn’t.  But if it does, I won’t know, because I won’t be checking Facebook.

Pick your own day to rest, and really find those things that allow you to recharge and be prepared to fight away the darkness and stand for the Kingdom every day.  Subvert the powers today.

 

One Sabbath Jesus was going through the grainfields, and as his disciples walked along, they began to pick some heads of grain.  The Pharisees said to him, “Look, why are they doing what is unlawful on the Sabbath?”

He answered, “Have you never read what David did when he and his companions were hungry and in need?  In the days of Abiathar the high priest, he entered the house of God and ate the consecrated bread, which is lawful only for priests to eat.  And he also gave some to his companions.”

Then he said to them, “The Sabbath was made for man, not man for the Sabbath.”

Matthew 2:23-27

About everydaysubversive

I am a subversive. I want you to come with me. I want you to subvert the powers and principalities with me. This blog will be the incoherent ramblings of a border-line crazed militant, peppered with book reviews, songs, poems, stories, commentary, and the Word of God. And, which will be the reoccurring theme, regular suggestions on how to daily subvert the forces of darkness. This is going to get messy. You might bleed a little, and i might as well. At any rate, stay tuned, there should be a lot to talk about.

One response to “Subversion of the Day- Rest

  1. Pingback: Subversion of the Day: Worship Only the One True God « the everyday subversive

Leave a Reply

